Springe direkt zu Inhalt

WORLDMAKING FROM A GLOBAL PERSPECTIVE:
A DIALOGUE WITH CHINA
從全球視閾看“世界”的建構:對話中國

Reading and Discussion with Yoko Tawada: Games and Disasters

Apr 25, 2024 | 08:00 PM
Reading with Yoko Tawada: Games and Disasters

Reading with Yoko Tawada: Games and Disasters

Skyscrapers crashing, large forests burning, a Tsunami sweeping houses and cars to the bottom of the sea: images of disaster activate fear. At the same time, they play with the desires and fascination of humans—always hoping for a new and (better) future after every destruction. As one catastrophe has just passed, another is lingering just around the corner – this feeling has long become part of our normality. How to cope? Art sometimes offers to approach even grim situations in a "playful" manner. For this purpose, extant imagery and specific patterns of thought or language need not be destroyed, but are dis- and reassembled in new ways. Art and literature may take courageous approaches to such topics, filled with courage, respect and a certain cheekiness, but devoid of hatred, even when they do not invite laughter at all. And indeed, this may be a survival strategy: Where laughter is lost, creative solutions cannot emerge.


This event is not a lecture, but a literary reading with discussion. Several languages will be used during the course of the reading (Japanese among them), but to enjoy it, participants just have to be able to understand one language (German or English).


About the author: Yoko Tawada was born in Tokyo in 1960. She came to Hamburg in 1982 where she studied German language and literature and obtained her doctorate in Zurich. She has lived in Berlin since 2006. Her first book was published in 1987. She writes in German and Japanese and has received numerous literary prizes, including the Akutagawa Prize (Japan), the National Book Award (USA) and the Kleist-Preis (Germany).

Time & Location

Apr 25, 2024 | 08:00 PM

CATS Auditorium, Heidelberg University

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

WELTERZEUGUNG AUS GLOBALER PERSPEKTIVE:
EIN DIALOG MIT CHINA
從全球視閾看“世界”的建構:對話中國

Lesung und Diskussion mit Yoko Tawada: Spiel und Katastrophen

25.04.2024 | 20:00
Reading with Yoko Tawada: Games and Disasters

Reading with Yoko Tawada: Games and Disasters

Tsunami-Wellen reißen Häuser und Autos mit sich in den Meeresgrund, Hochhäuser stürzen ab und große Wälder brennen: Bilder der Katastrophen aktivieren Angst in uns, spielen aber auch mit Lust und Faszination der Menschen, die sich hinter jeder Zerstörung eine neue (bessere) Zeit erhoffen. Schon längst gehört der Zustand, in dem wir eine Katastrophe gerade hinter uns und eine weitere direkt vor uns haben, zur Normalität. Wie kann man damit umgehen? Manchmal geht die Kunst mit diesem ernsthaften Zustand „spielerisch“ um. Die bestehenden Denkbilder und Sprachen sollten dabei nicht zerstört werden, sondern auseinandergenommen und anders zusammengesetzt. Die Literatur kann ohne Hass, aber mit Mut, respektvoll und dennoch sehr frech mit den Themen umgehen, bei denen normalerweise niemand lacht. Es kann auch eine Überlebensstrategie sein: Wo das Lachen abhandengekommen ist, entsteht keine kreative Lösung.


Diese Veranstaltung ist kein Vortrag, sondern eine literarische Lesung mit Diskussion. Bei der Lesung werden mehrere Sprachen verwendet (z.B. Japanisch), aber um sie zu genießen, reicht es vollkommen aus, wenn Sie eine Sprache (Deutsch oder Englisch) verstehen.


Zur Autorin: Yoko Tawada wurde 1960 in Tokio geboren. 1982 kam sie nach Hamburg und studierte Germanistik. Promotion in Zürich. Seit 2006 lebt sie in Berlin. Die erste Buchveröffentlichung 1987. Sie schreibt auf Deutsch und Japanisch. Zahlreiche Literaturpreise u.a. Akutagawa-Preis (Japan), National Book Award (USA) und Kleist-Preis (Deutschland). 

Zeit & Ort

25.04.2024 | 20:00

CATS Auditorium, Universität Heidelberg