Springe direkt zu Inhalt

WORLDMAKING FROM A GLOBAL PERSPECTIVE:
A DIALOGUE WITH CHINA
從全球視閾看“世界”的建構:對話中國

Digital Dialogues #3 Lifeworld and Philosophy in Translation: Zhuangzi and Laozi

Nov 17, 2021 | 01:00 PM

As part of the Digital Workshop Series "Digital Dialogues 數字對話", researchers will discuss various aspects and questions of the joint project.


Lifeworld and Philosophy in Translation: Zhuangzi and Laozi

November 17, 2021, 1.15 – 2.45 pm CET via Webex


The participants of the third Digital Dialogue attend to two ancient classics of Chinese Daoism in German translation. Albeit in different ways, both the Book Laozi and the Book Zhuangzi take a critical stance towards the systematic controllability and conventionalisability of world constituents.

Natalie Chamat analyses modes and conditions of success of world and self-relations in philosophy, art and literature. In German-language reception, the Book Zhuangzi is read both as a philosophical text and as an outstanding work of world literature. World appears here in the title of the fourth of the Inner Chapters as "human world" (人間世 rén jiān shì); however, the text is known - and infamous - for its reflections on the "care of life" (養生主 yǎng shēng zhǔ). And so, in the fourth chapter, it is unusual figures from the periphery of the social order who pit the life-value of their unworthiness against the world-improvement ambitions of the cultivated counsellor - or give him something to ponder upon along the way. Before Richard Wilhelm published the first, almost complete sinological translation in 1912, Martin Buber had already presented his selection of predominantly narrative passages of the Zhuangzi in 1910, following the English versions by Herbert Giles (1889) and James Legge (1891). It was not until the late 1990s that new translations into German followed. There is no historical evidence for the existence of a person named Zhuang Zhou, who according to Sima Qian is said to have lived as a lacquer garden supervisor during the time of the Warring States, and we know little about the various circulating versions of the book before it was brought into the form known to us today and annotated by Guo Xiang (253-312). It is therefore only of limited use for reliable information about the use of signs in a particular time, a particular milieu or a particular tradition of Chinese thought. What can be observed here are dynamics of synthesis, syncretism, incorporation or harmonisation in Chinese philosophising. However, beyond this the book of Zhuangzi offers the possibility of an aesthetically mediated experience of time in reading.

Fabian Heubel is working on a philosophical commentary of selected chapters of the book Laozi (or Daodejing) into German. He is asking himself how “concepts” (gàiniàn 概念) are coined by way of translations that open up access to the world of Daoist thought for a German readership. For his research perspective, the translingual dynamic between the Chinese and German languages is of outstanding importance, always also keeping an eye on how German concepts have been and are translated into Chinese. For his translation and interpretation of the Laozi, moreover, the diversity of internal Chinese perspectives is an important corrective to the history of translations into German and other Western languages. The richness of the Chinese commentary tradition provides him with indispensable insights into profound transformations that the understanding of the Laozi in particular and the Daoist worldview in general have undergone. Finally, the discussion of various translations and commentaries prepares for the experimental unfolding of transcultural correspondences, which open up a variety of references between Chinese and European texts and contexts that situate the book of Laozi in the temporal and spatial dynamics of antiquity and modernity, East and West. Thereby Heubel attempts to inspire the communication between classical Chinese and contemporary philosophy in a critical way.

After a presentation of examples from the projects, Dr Wang Ge will moderate the subsequent discussion of the two approaches and the general Q&A session.

 

Speaker:

Natalie Chamat is a literary scholar and did her PhD on the philosophy of language and history in translation theories focusing Walter Benjamin's Baudelaire translations. She researches intercultural modes and conditions of success of world and self relations in philosophy, art and literature.

Prof. Dr. Fabian Heubel is a philosopher and sinologist, Research Fellow at the Institute of Chinese Literature and Philosophy at Academia Sinica in Taipei and is working on a philosophical commentary of the Laozi.

Moderation:

Dr Wang Ge is a translator, philosopher and Germanist. After a Research Fellowship of the Mercator Foundation on the concept of freedom, she currently works for the Bildungsnetzwerk China.

Chair:

The speakers of the Dialogue are introduced by PD Dr Hans Feger, who enabled them to offer seminars on classical Chinese philosophy (Buddhism and Daoism) in translation at the Philosophical Institute of the FU Berlin as part of the German-Chinese Alumni Network (DCHAN) The Good Life during the Pandemic.

Access:

The participation at this event is open to everyone, who registers prior to the event. To register please send an e-mail to office[at]worldmaking-china.org. Registered participants will receive the Webex link to join the event.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

WELTERZEUGUNG AUS GLOBALER PERSPEKTIVE:
EIN DIALOG MIT CHINA
從全球視閾看“世界”的建構:對話中國

Digital Workshop Series "Digital Dialogues 數字對話" #3

17.11.2021 | 13:00

Im Rahmen der Digital Workshop Series "Digital Dialogues 數字對話" diskutieren Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler verschiedene Teilaspekte und Fragestellungen des Verbundprojekts.


Lebenswelt und Philosophie in Übersetzung: Zhuangzi und Laozi (Lifeworld and Philosophy in Translation: Zhuangzi and Laozi)

17. November 2021, 13.15 – 14.45 Uhr CET via Webex


Die Teilnehmer des dritten Digital Dialogues widmen sich zwei antiken Klassikern des chinesischen Daoismus in deutscher Übersetzung. Sowohl das Buch Laozi wie auch das Buch Zhuangzi nehmen auf unterschiedliche Weise eine kritische Haltung gegenüber der systematischen Beherrschbarkeit und Konventionalisierbarkeit von Welt-Konstituenzien ein.

Natalie Chamat analysiert Modi und Gelingensbedingungen von Welt- und Selbstverhältnissen in Philosophie, Kunst und Literatur. Das Buch Zhuangzi wird in der deutschsprachigen Rezeption sowohl als philosophischer Text wie auch als ein herausragendes Werk der Weltliteratur gelesen. Welt taucht hier im Titel des vierten der Inneren Kapitel auf als „Menschenwelt“ (人間世 rén jiān shì); bekannt — und berüchtigt — ist der Text jedoch für seine Überlegungen zur „Pflege des Lebens“ (養生主 yǎng shēng zhǔ). Und so sind es im vierten Kapitel auch ungewöhnliche Gestalten aus der Peripherie der gesellschaftlichen Ordnung, die das Lebenswerte ihrer Unverwertbarkeit gegen die Weltverbesserungsambitionen des kultivierten Ratgebers ausspielen — oder ihm mit auf den Weg geben. Bevor Richard Wilhelm 1912 die erste, annähernd vollständige sinologische Übersetzung publizierte, hatte Martin Buber bereits 1910 in Anlehnung an die englischen Versionen von Herbert Giles (1889) und James Legge (1891) seine Auswahl überwiegend narrativer Passagen des Zhuangzi vorgelegt. Erst Ende der 90er Jahre des 20. Jahrhunderts folgten Neuübersetzungen ins Deutsche. Die Person des Zhuang Zhou, der laut Sima Qian als Lackgartenaufseher in der Zeit der Streitenden Reiche gelebt haben soll, ist historisch nicht gesichert und wir wissen wenig über die verschiedenen zirkulierenden Versionen des Buches, bevor es von Guo Xiang (253-312) in die bis heute bekannte Form gebracht und kommentiert wurde. Für zuverlässige Informationen über den Zeichengebrauch einer bestimmten Zeit, eines bestimmten Milieus oder einer bestimmten Tradition des chinesischen Denkens eignet es sich daher nur eingeschränkt. Beobachten lassen sich hier eher Dynamiken der Synthese, des Synkretismus, der Einverleibung oder der Harmonisierung im chinesischen Philosophieren. Was das Buch Zhuangzi aber darüber hinaus bereithält, ist die Ermöglichung einer ästhetisch vermittelten Erfahrung von Zeit in der Lektüre.

Fabian Heubel arbeitet an einem philosophischen Kommentar ausgewählter Kapitel des Buches Laozi ins Deutsche. Er stellt sich die Frage, wie auf dem Wege der Übersetzung „Begriffe“ (gàiniàn 概念) geprägt werden, die einem deutschen Lesepublikum Zugang zur Welt daoistischen Denkens eröffnen. Für seine Forschungsperspektive ist dabei die translinguale Dynamik zwischen der chinesischen und der deutschen Sprache von herausragender Bedeutung, die immer auch ein Auge darauf hat, wie deutsche Begriffe ins Chinesische übersetzt worden sind und werden. Für seine Übersetzung und Deutung des Laozi ist zudem die Vielfalt innerchinesischer Perspektiven ein wichtiges Korrektiv zur Geschichte der Übersetzungen ins Deutsche und anderer westlicher Sprachen. Der Reichtum der chinesischen Kommentartradition eröffnet für ihn unverzichtbare Einblicke in tiefgreifende Wandlungen, die das Verständnis des Laozi im Besonderen und das daoistische Weltbild im Allgemeinen durchlaufen hat. Die Auseinandersetzung mit verschiedenen Übersetzungen und Kommentaren bereitet schließlich die Diskussion transkultureller Korrespondenzen vor, bei denen es darum geht, eine Vielfalt von Bezügen zwischen chinesischen und europäischen Texten und Kontexten zu eröffnen, die das Buch Laozi in der zeitlichen und räumlichen Dynamik von Altem und Neuem sowie Östlichem und Westlichem verorten. So versucht er auf kritische Weise eine neuartige Kommunikation zwischen klassischer chinesischer und zeitgenössischer Philosophie anzuregen.

Nach der Präsentation von Beispielen aus den Projekten wird Frau Dr. Wang Ge die anschließende Diskussion der beiden Ansätze sowie die Fragerunde moderieren.

Sprecher:

Natalie Chamat ist Literaturwissenschaftlerin und promovierte ausgehend von Walter Benjamins Baudelaire-Übersetzungen zur Sprach- und Geschichtsphilosophie von Übersetzungstheorien. Sie forscht zu interkulturellen Modi und Gelingensbedingungen von Welt- und Selbstverhältnissen in Philosophie, Kunst und Literatur.

Prof. Dr. Fabian Heubel ist Philosoph und Sinologe, er ist Research Fellow am Institute of Chinese Literature and Philosophy der Academia Sinica in Taipei und arbeitet an einem philosophischen Kommentar zum Buch Laozi.

Moderation:

Dr. Wang Ge ist Übersetzerin, Philosophin und Germanistin. Nach einem Research Fellowship der Mercator Stiftung zum Begriff der Freiheit ist sie zur Zeit Mitarbeiterin des Bildungsnetzwerks China.

Vorsitz:

Vorgestellt werden die Teilnehmer von PD Dr. Hans Feger, der ihnen im Rahmen des Deutsch-Chinesischen Alumninetzwerks (DCHAN) Das Gute Leben während der Pandemie ermöglicht hat, am Philosophischen Institut der FU Berlin Seminare zur klassischen chinesischen Philosophie (Buddhismus und Daoismus) in Übersetzung anzubieten.

Zugang:

Die Teilnahme an dieser Veranstaltung ist offen für alle, die sich vor der Veranstaltung unter office[at]worldmaking-china.org anmelden. Angemeldete Teilnehmende erhalten den Webex-Link zur Teilnahme an der Veranstaltung.